My Beauty Essentials

Today I felt like sharing with you some of the staple products in my beauty collection, the go-to products that I know have great results time after time. These are typically the products that I reach for on a daily basis, and repurchase when they are empty as I cannot live without them! There’s a variety of price points, with products from both high end and high street included, so I hope that means that there is something for everyone. Also, I will be using one product from each ‘category’, if you like, so one foundation, one mascara, one moisturiser and so on. Enjoy!

*Primer*

IMG_2993

My favourite primer at the moment is the Stila One Step Correct. Although I am unsure how much work the colour correcting actually does, as I never wear it alone, it does act as a really great base for my foundation. The gel consistency is smooth, hydrating and makes my foundation set flawlessly.

*Foundation*

IMG_2994

My favourite foundation of the moment is Nars Sheer Glow, I’ve had this for a while and it’s a product that I always go for if I want something that I can rely on to look good. So, for nights out or dinners or any special occasion really, this is the foundation I wear most often. I have almost finished my first bottle, so I will for sure be repurchasing this soon and my shade is Siberia (yes, I am that pale). Sheer glow is a dewy foundation that I would say is medium coverage but extremely buildable. It is not cakey at all on the skin, and as someone with normal/dry skin I find this works extremely well. I apply a thin layer with my fingers, then a thicker layer on top with a damp beauty blender and it gives the most youthful, glowy finish that I am so obsessed with.

*Concealer*

IMG_3070

To be honest, I haven’t tried many concealers in my lifetime, as it’s not a product that I have used religiously until the past year or so. However, my go-to concealer would definitely be the Collection Lasting Perfection concealer in shade 01 Fair. It is extremely cheap, has great coverage and isn’t drying on me. I do find that it settles into my creases, unless I set it immediately with finishing powder. For this price though, I think it’s fantastic. It is also a really great colour for pale people as it doesn’t have any excessive orange or pink undertones like most high street face products.

*Blush*

I have a lot of different blushes in my collection as I have always loved adding some colour to my cheeks, as I need to bring my pale skin to life. However, there is no doubt in my mind that the Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso is my favourite of all time. The colour payoff is incredible, for a subtle glowy colour you only need the tiniest bit of product and the finish is just gorgeous. As you can see, this blush is a peach colour with the tiniest bit of highlight running through it.

*Highlight*

Okay, so like most beauty junkies on the internet right now, my highlighters are some of my favourite products in my entire beauty collection. I cannot get enough of them. That being said, its very difficult to choose one favourite so I have narrowed it down to two. The first is the Balm’s Mary Loumanizer, the most stunning white/gold glow that gives great results every. single. time. My other favourite is of course MAC’s Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft and Gentle. One of the best products on the market in my opinion, this product is foolproof, if applied gently it gives the most subtle, gorgeous radiance which is also buildable without looking too harsh. It has the most beautiful bronze/peach undertone but is by no means a strong colour, which is perfect for fair skin tones.

*Eyeshadow*

IMG_3064

Okay, this is by far the hardest category as I own enough eyeshadows to last three lifetimes. However, I am going to narrow it down to my favourite brands for eyeshadows instead. Without a doubt, two of my favourite beauty brands are Urban Decay and Too Faced. I also believe that they do some of the most gorgeous eyeshadows I have ever tried. They blend like a dream, have an amazing combination of mattes and shimmers and are creamy and simply look amazing. I love the naked palettes, they are probably the first high end palettes I ever bought and still reach for almost every time to this day.

Additionally, the best cream eyeshadows in my opinion are the Maybelline Colour Tattoo 24h eyeshadows. Oh my lord, I have had a couple of these for a very long time now and they never get old. In my opinion, they are very comparable to the MAC paint pots, but only a fraction of the price. I have been hoping that they would come out with new shades for these because I just LOVE them. My favourite shades are On and On Bronze, a gorgeous bronze shimmery colour, and Metallic Pomegranate, the most incredible burgundy/plum colour with subtle gold shimmer.

*Eyeliner*

IMG_3071

Eyeliner is another product that I haven’t tried that many of, as I don’t always reach for eyeliner in general. However, one liquid liner that never fails me is the Collection Extreme 24h Felt Tip Liner in Black. I love this liner, it is so affordable and fool-proof, eyeliner is something I have never been particularly skilled at as I do not have steady hands at all, however, this felt tip is not too thick and not too thin, making it easy to apply and get the perfect wing.

*Mascara*

In terms of mascara, it is quite the contrary. I have tried a lot of different mascaras and I have rarely found any that I would repurchase. UNTIL RECENTLY! Somewhere at the end of 2015 I bought Urban Decay’s Perversion mascara after a recommendation from a friend and oh my god. It is the perfect mascara for me, I love a mascara that gives intense volume and length and this is one of few mascaras that doesn’t compromise on one for the other. I think it is 100% worth the price, which for a high end brand is very fair at £17.50. I ran out of my first tube some time ago, but I haven’t repurchased it yet as I have a few open tubes to get through first, but trust me I will be buying time and time again and if UD ever decide to discontinue, I think I will cry.

*Lipstick*

My favourite lipstick of all time is the perfect nude for pale skin by Maybelline Colour Sensational. It is the shade Tantalising Taupe and I just think that it is stunning. It suits almost any makeup look and is my go-to nude for everyday wear.

*Beauty tools*

IMG_3065

This one is easy for me, a product that I repurchase and repurchase and repurchase is the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. Admittedly, I haven’t tried the original Beauty Blender or any other variations of them. But you know what they say, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it! I think this sponge blends any foundation or concealer out like a dream and gives the perfect glowy finish to your skin when used damp. I really have nothing bad to say about this product, the shape is perfect – I love the flat top especially. If you haven’t tried this yet, you must!

*Skincare*

IMG_3077

My absolute skincare holy grail is the Origins Gin Zing Energy Boosting Moisturiser. This is something that I have found has very mixed reviews, however, I cannot recommend this product enough for people with dry skin. Also, Origins uses only natural products and renewable resources which is another reason why I like them so much. Gin Zing’s consistency is somewhat like a gel, that sinks into the skin so quickly leaving your skin hydrated with a fresh, glowy finish, without any gunky layers left behind. It also smells like oranges, so if you don’t like scented moisturisers then this one is not for you, but I think it’s so refreshing, especially in the morning. I apply this AM and PM and I think I have gone through approximately 6 tubs of this stuff since I discovered it a few years ago. But! Fear not, you do not need a lot of product as a little goes a long way and they do last a very long time. I would say, applying twice a day, a 50ml tub lasts me around 3 months and I am not very conscious of how much I use at a time.

In terms of skincare I also am a huge fan of micellar water. I have tried a handful of different brands but the one I always seem to go back to is the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water in the pink bottle which I believe is for sensitive skin. I personally use it after cleansing or using wipes, so not particularly for makeup removal but just to get off any bits of product that I might have missed to keep my skin clean and fresh.

When I’m feeling lazy, my go-to product for makeup removal is the Simple Kind to Skin Cleansing Facial Wipes. I find that they remove my makeup so effortlessly without irritating my skin. They also don’t dry my skin out or sting my eyes, which is so important to me as I usually have this issue with other brands.

Last but certainly not least, my favourite eye cream is the Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado. This formula is hands down the best I have tried and I believe one of the best on the market for people who struggle with dry skin around their eyes. It is a gentle product, which is creamy on the skin and fairly rich in texture. I do not use this every day of the year, but I reach for it mostly in the colder months and generally a couple of times a week to keep my undereye area plump and hydrated.

 

Well, there you have it! My essential beauty products. I hope you like this post and if you would like to see more, please feel free to follow my blog.

Don’t forget to let me know what you think of these products if you have tried them. I am also always happy to hear any kind of beauty recommendation, so let me know your beauty essentials of the moment!

 

Have a lovely weekend,

Loren

 

 

6 thoughts on “My Beauty Essentials

Leave a Reply

