Hit and Miss: Dutch Food

Hello everyone,

So today I thought I would share with you some of the Dutch foods that I have tried since I started visiting and what my thoughts are on them. I am hoping that some of you will find this post funny or relatable. However, for those of you who have never tried, or even heard of these foods, then you should visit Holland, give them a go, and let me know what you think!

*Hits*

I am going to start off with the foods that I really like. There are many others that i like, but have decided not to include in this post – oliebollen, kaas souffle, pannenkoeken…the list goes on – but these are definitely my favourites!

Bitterballen – people who know me will not be surprised that this is the first mention in the ‘hits’ section because I god damn LOVE bitterballen. Yes, they are not healthy, in fact, most of the mentions in this post are not healthy…but I could not care less. They are little deep fried balls of beef ragout, or heaven. Seriously, if you ever visit the Netherlands, this is a must try!

Broodje Kroket – I know, I know, rundvlees (beef) kroket (croquette) are basically bitterballen in another form, so this isn’t exactly groundbreaking. However, kroket in a bread roll with mustard is hands down the single best Dutch comfort food in existence. Really, so good.

Frikandel Broodje – okay so, admittedly, sausages have never been my favourite food, and the famous Dutch frikandel is no exception. HOWEVER, on one of my first visits to the Netherlands I was introduced to frikandel broodje, the pastry kind from Albert Heijn, and I was hooked. It’s the curry sauce that does it for me – pastry, sauce and meat (if you can call it that?), a combination for kings.

Bamischijf – any food with Asian fusion calls my name, let’s be real now. Noodles, rice, spicy…I like it all. So it goes without saying that when I tried bamischijf for the first time, I was in love! It’s basically a deep fried pattie filled with noodles, veggies and a spicy marinade. I believe it’s a Dutch take on an Indonesian dish, and it is delicious.

Stroopwafel – the sweetest, most delicious round piece of joy in the whole of Holland. If you have a sweet tooth, you are going to love these famous Dutch caramel waffles. In fact, they sell a version of them in UK starbucks on the counter before you pay, which are almost as good as the real thing. So, get on that next time you grab a coffee! You won’t be disappointed.

Appeltaart – my final favourite, and equally as unhealthy as those that came before it! Appeltaart, as you may have guessed, is a Dutch take on an apple pie…but better, much better. With lashings of sugar and cinnamon and a thick, buttery crust, it is truly a delicious dessert. My boyfriend’s mother makes hands down the best appeltaart in the country, I am sure of it. My mouth is watering just thinking about it…

*Misses*

Considering I am truly a human dustbin and full-time foodie, there aren’t as many misses as hits, however, these misses are real stinkers (IMHO).

Haring – the thought of this one alone makes me feel queasy. Right, I am going to be honest, I have never tasted Dutch herring, and I do not plan to. I am aware that, that makes me sound ridiculous for even including it in this post…however, I have never liked any kind of fish or seafood, and I really don’t see how eating a whole raw fish is going to be any different for me. When I see people eating these, I almost feel proud that they have the balls to do it because seriously, it is disgusting.

Hagelslag – okay, so this is something that I was VERY excited and also VERY confused about at the same time, when I first heard it was, you know, a thing…basically, for anyone who doesn’t know, the Dutch like to eat sugar sprinkles…on bread. I have to admit, although it does not taste bad, I just don’t GET IT. When I see people eating this it still makes me laugh inside, it just feels bizarre. Great, but bizarre. Unfortunately not something I have hopped on the bandwagon with so far.

Drop – this one, I imagine, will make the Dutchies reading this blog laugh a little, as there’s an internet sensation based upon ‘making foreigners try Dutch drop’ to see their reactions. I do admit, it can be pretty hilarious. Drop is basically liquorice, the black candy that is usually nice and sweet in taste. HOWEVER, and this is a big however, the Dutch also have a liking towards salted and bitter drop, which to me is not enjoyable at all. It has a similar affect as sour candy, in the way that it makes you pull a funny face, particularly if you are not familiar with the unique flavour. I wanted to be the one expat to really love this traditional treat, but it’s a big no from me, unfortunately.

Thank you for reading this post and I hope you enjoyed it! Let me know what you think of these Dutch foods, and anything you think I should try in the future.

Eet Smakelijk,

Loren

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

