Beauty Haul and Swatches

So today I thought I would write a post about my recent makeup purchases, as there has been quite a few over the last couple of weeks. I decided to treat myself to some new bits as it is my birthday month after all! A couple of these products are from brands that I have never tried before, so that made it even more exciting and interesting when using them for the first time. I obviously haven’t been using these products long, so my thoughts on them will be on a first-impression basis, but I hope you enjoy this post!

Milani Amore Matte Lip Creme

One of my most exciting purchases was the Milani Amore Matte lip products. I love my Milani baked blush and I was hoping they would also come through with their liquid lipsticks – and boy, oh boy, they did! I think that the packaging is stunning and the formula is very rich in pigment and creamy in texture. Of course, they are somewhat drying, as most liquid lipsticks are, however, they do not feel uncomfortable on the lips. They are also extremely long wearing, so much so that they are actually difficult to remove at the end of the day. I find that as long as I eat carefully, and avoid oily foods, the lipstick remains untouched after several hours.

Now, I have heard that some people have been disappointed with these products as they leave a white residue on the inside of their lips, I can confirm that I have not yet had this happen to me with either of the shades I bought, which I am very pleased about.

These are the *gorgeous* shades that I purchased, I am in love!

IMG_2583

Pale Skin Swatches – The top nude shade 10 Adorable, and the pink shade underneath is 11 Precious.

IMG_3091

Sleek ‘Matte Me’ Ultra Smooth Matte Lip Cream

I also decided to order one of Sleek’s matte liquid lipsticks at the same time, and I have to say I wasn’t as impressed with this one. I like the packaging, and the formula feels nice at first – not too drying, doesn’t crack and so on. However, the applicator is not, in my opinion, great quality and I find it much harder to get a neat application. Also, the lasting abilities are not great, the central area was removed even when drinking with a straw, and completely ruined when eating a meal. Despite this, it is a beautiful colour and I would recommend sticking to this one for short periods of time, perhaps when shopping or something, not when going out for food and drink.

I purchased the very popular shade 436 Birthday Suit, see swatch below.

IMG_2584IMG_3090

Sleek Highlighting Palette – Solstice 032

Holy makeup gods, I have been wanting this palette since I saw the likes of Nikkie Tutorials, Jeffree Star and Manny MUA using it in their tutorials and I knew I needed it in my life too. I was not disappointed.

The palette comes with 4 unique highlighter shades, 3 powder and 1 cream. They are absolutely stunning, and I like them all. However, the bronze shade and the creamy shade require a light hand on my pale skin, as they are all very pigmented. The copper packaging is also absolutely gorgeous, when I first bought it I spent a fair amount of time just staring at it!

IMG_3119

Top left: Ecliptic. Top right: Hemisphere. Bottom Left: Subsolar. Bottom Right: Equinox.

IMG_3120

Here are some swatches for you guys. From left to right: Ecliptic, Subsolar, Hemisphere, Equinox.

IMG_3121.JPG

 

NYX Various Lip Products

I recently wanted to know what the hype was about surrounding the NYX lip collections, and I am so glad I did, because I love them all.

IMG_2963.JPG

First purchase was the NYX soft matte lip cream in shade 05 Antwerp. A goregous, very bright and daring pink. The texture is moussey, and although transferable and not very long-lasting, is a really gorgeous formula which is easy to touch up without looking cakey or cracking.

IMG_3087.JPG

Second NYX lip product is the Butter Gloss in shade 05 Creme Brulee. I LOVE this gloss! It is not too sticky, smells like heaven and is the perfect summer gloss. It looks great worn on top of a nude/pink lip and it is also pigmented enough to look fantastic alone.

IMG_3088

Finally, and quite possibly my favourite of the three is the Intense Butter Gloss in the shade 11 Tres Leches. Oh my gosh. This lip product is INSANE. The pigmentation is like no other gloss I have tried before, the texture is smooth and long-wearing and I honestly want to buy so many more of these.

IMG_3085

MUA Eyeshadows

I bought some of the MUA eyeshadow palettes a long time ago and I remember being impressed at first, but quickly leaving them behind. For those who don’t know, MUA is an extremely affordable brand in the UK and I recently ventured back to the brand to try the single eyeshadows and I was so impressed with the formula. It is extremely creamy and thick in texture, the pigmentation is absolutely insane for £1 per shadow and honestly, for that price I really don’t think that you can go wrong. I recently purchased two new shades; an intense silver called Platinum and another called Bronze.

IMG_3099

Makeup Revolution Ultra Sculpt and Contour Kit

I bought this product in the shade Fair a few weeks ago now and I have been reaching for it all of the time. I do not use the bronzer, as I rarely wear bronzer, and when I do it has to be a much lighter shade than this. However, the highlight shade is so pigmented and amazing, I have been wearing it almost every day as a highlight for under the brows, cupids bow and tip of the nose. The blush is a gorgeous pink with gold shimmer, giving the perfect radiant glow when applied sparingly. It reminds me a lot of the Sleek rose gold blush. The packaging is great for travelling as it is compact and I think that the quality of this product for such an affordable price is excellent.

IMG_2961IMG_2988

Makeup Revolution Ultra Professional Eyeshadow Palettes

I have been really impressed with the brand Makeup Revolution recently, and since its so ridiculously affordable I thought I would purchase a few of their shadow palettes. To be honest, the pigmentation isn’t the best. However, they are easy to blend and buildable, you just have to be patient. That being said, for the price you cannot complain at all and the sheer range of colours and styles that they have is fantastic, there’s something to suit everyone.

The palettes I opted for were the Flawless Matte and Fortune Favours the Brave (with British Beauty Blogger).

IMG_3105IMG_3107

IMG_2997IMG_3003

Makeup Revolution Ultra Blush Palette – Golden Sugar.

This palette, in my opinion, is much more of a highlighting palette than a blush palette, but that’s probably why I like it so much. The bronze shades are not for me, as they are too intense for my skin tone, however, they are all gorgeous colours with great pigmentation. Similarly to the eyeshadows above, this palette is great for travelling as it gives you a good range of choices, comes in a compact and sleek packaging and has a huge mirror inside.

Here are some swatches for you guys. Goregous, right?

IMG_3104

Makeup Revolution Pure Pigments 

I love these pigments! I believe I purchased these for 1.49 euros each, bargain! They are great quality, and although there can be a lot of fall down (it is a powder pigment, after all) the end result is always stunning. I will probably get a few more of these in the future.

Swatches – Top: Indirect. Bottom: Etiquette.

IMG_3117

Kiko – Various Eye Products 

I also bought some Kiko products whilst in Amsterdam this week, I love this brand. It’s affordable and the quality is almost always excellent. All of these eyeshadows are long-wearing, easy to blend and have intense pigmentation. Here are the products that I went for this time…

  • Highly Pigmented Eyeshadow – shade 106 (green) and 111 (blue)

IMG_3098

  • Cream Crush Lasting Colour Eyeshadow – shade 11 …I couldn’t get a good swatch of this one unfortunately, it’s a gorgeous sheer white highlight with a pink/gold reflection that this photo does not do justice, but you get the idea.

IMG_3095

  • Long Lasting Stick 8hr No-Transfer Eyeshadow – shade 36, absolutely gorgeous rose gold. Super long-lasting, one of my favourite Kiko products I have quite a few of these now.

IMG_3093

Morphe Brushes

  • 701 – 7 piece rose gold set

IMG_3078

I am not going to lie, I bought this set just to look at. I have wanted to try Morphe for some time now, and after discovering that Beauty Bay ships to the Netherlands I finally got my hands on some of their brushes. They are gorgeous and so affordable, however, I do believe that this set isn’t the best quality. The powder brush is so soft and fluffy, but unfortunately it sheds every single time I use it.

  • M441 Pro Firm Blending Crease Brush

IMG_2664

I bought this crease brush in particular as it was recommended by Jaclyn Hill, duh. Haha, but seriously, this is such a great blending brush for the price. I will definitely be purchasing some more of these.

Morphe 12NB Natural Beauty Palette

IMG_2661

IMG_2667

Holy…I think this palette is stunning. The colours are so warm and gorgeous, they are so creamy, pigmented, easy to blend, the whole shabang. A fantastic range of mattes and shimmers too. Definitely recommend this palette to anyone wanting something on the more affordable side without compromising quality. It’s also such sleek and light packaging, this will definitely be a go-to for travel, I only wish it had a mirror.

Too Faced ‘Better Than Sex’ Mascara 

IMG_2665

Now, this mascara has been raved about for as long as I can remember, so last month I decided to finally try it out. I have to say though, I am not as in love with it as others. I think this is a product that you either love more than anything or are just not fussed about. It’s a good product, the formula is excellent, but for me personally the brush can be quite tricky to work with and I almost always get product on my lid and undereye because it’s so big. I will continue to use this as, on its good days it gives the most beautiful volume and, mostly because this product cost a pretty penny!

 

There you have it, my most recent beauty ‘haul’ (of sorts). I hope you enjoyed this post, if you did please feel free to give it a like or follow my blog for similar posts. Also, please let me know what products you have been loving this month, if they are the same as these or different, I’d love to hear about them.

 

Have a great weekend,

Loren

 

Leave a Reply

