August Favourites 2016

It’s been a while since I last posted, mostly because I have been busy with my family and friends visiting, and also because I am only 9 days away from submitting my masters dissertation! The excitement (and stress) is real.

As it’s nearing the end of the month, I thought that it’s only fitting that I let you know what I’ve been enjoying the most this August.

My first, and probably most used, favourite would have to be the Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara. This has been raved about online for a fair amount of time now, but I only recently got around to trying it out. I have to say I absolutely love this mascara, it reminds me a lot of the amazing Benefit Roller Lash, but only a fraction of the price. The brush is slightly different, but they both have those stiff bristles that allow you to really get close to the lash line and fan out the lashes beautifully. I think it gives good volume and even better length, no clumpiness whatsoever and is extremely black – overall thumbs up from me with this one.

IMG_3299

IMG_3314

My second favourite would have to be the Stila Aqua Glow Serum Foundation. Another product that I’m late on the bandwagon with, but absolutely adore. It is a much more sheer formula than I am used to, but that is exactly why I have been enjoying it. The product description really hits the nail on the head with this one, it is a serum-like consistency that gives the most beautiful, natural glow. It is light coverage but can be built to medium in areas that need it and I find that this product applies really well with a brush. A beauty blender does give a nice finish but with the product having a thin consistency, I feel like the sponge soaks up a LOT of product.

Stila have successfully created the perfect summer foundation for me this year. My absolute favourite thing about this foundation, though, has to be the shade. I have finally found a foundation that is ACTUALLY my colour! I use the lightest shade, fair, and it is pretty much spot on. I’m unsure whether it’s because I have a little bit of a tan, so perhaps it will not be so perfect in the winter, but for now it really is. It’s a very light neutral shade, not too pink like most brands tend to go towards when making lighter shades (Rimmel, take note), and definitely not too yellow either. Excellent product.

IMG_3282IMG_3283

IMG_3293

Another product I have been loving in this summer heat is the Rituals Sun Protection Face Cream SPF 30. This has been a staple in my handbag this month, and I absolutely love the formula. I knew this year that finding a great face sun cream was a must, as putting greasy regular sun protection on my face is something I really cannot stand. Rituals saved the day with this one as they gave me two sample freebies with some of my recent purchases. I didn’t expect much but I was really pleasantly surprised! The formula is not at all greasy or sticky, it doesn’t have an overpowering sun cream smell and it prevented me from getting burnt even when I spent entire days on the beach in 30+ degree heat. Love it!

IMG_3290

Something I have loved for years now is the L’Oreal Lumi Magique Pure Light Primer. I honestly recommend this all of the time but I bought a brand new tube this month and was reminded of exactly how much I love it. It is basically an illuminating, white-based primer and I find it very comparable to the Mac Strobe Cream. It is much cheaper in comparison and it is certainly a thinner consistency, but I find this works better for me as I  don’t use this as a primer necessarily. I enjoy using this product mixed into my foundation as, not only does it give any foundation a beautiful radiance, but it also really helps me out as the whiteness of the product helps to tone down foundations that are slightly too dark for my skin tone, which, let’s face it, is almost always. A little goes a long way with this product and one of these tubes lasts me months on end. Definitely recommend this.

IMG_3287IMG_3294

Another very, very old favourite of mine is the Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in Papaya. This was an obsession of mine a few years ago when I first got properly into makeup and rediscovering it this summer has been the absolute best. It’s the perfect summer shade and I absolutely adore the formula of these lip butters. It has been so refreshing to quickly apply a glossy-based lipstick in comparison to all of the liquid matte lipsticks I have been using recently. The formula is so hydrating and leaves a gorgeous glossy finish.

IMG_3302IMG_3305

IMG_3317

Swatch: I thought I would show you how it looks with one layer and when you build up the colour – gorgeous!

Something I have been wanting to try for honestly, years…the Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer. Yup, I am really THIS late with trying this product. And why on earth did I wait so long? The formula of this concealer is creamy, blendable and gorgeous, the coverage isn’t the fullest I have ever used, but it’s good enough for me.The doughfoot (is that how you spell that?!) applicator is soft and a good size to get under the eye. I use the shade Chantilly, which I was really apprehensive about as people were describing it as “totally white” which, I know I am pale, but you guys it’s honestly not the palest shade I’ve ever seen. It’s perfect for my skin tone and this will definitely be something I repurchase when I run out.

IMG_3275IMG_3278IMG_3281

Something I have loved forever and comes as no surprise is the Urban Decay All Nighter setting spray. However, the reason I am giving it a mention in this months favourites is because I recently invested in the travel size. I really wish I had done this sooner, it sounds obvious but it really is a life saver being able to take this around when I travel! It’s £9 for 30ml which means that, overall, it is a little more pricey than the large bottle, but I think it’s worth it.

IMG_3284

As you know if you read my recent posts, I purchased some Colourpop Cosmetics products last month. One of the Super Shock Shadows I have been reaching for over and over this month has to be Game Face. The most beautiful, intense copper colour. It has been so perfect this summer and I think this is one of my all time favourite eyeshadow formulas, really impressed with this.

IMG_3307IMG_3309IMG_3311

My final favourite of this month is actually a liquid pen eyeliner. Yes, that’s right, I have strayed away from my trusty Collection felt tip liner and tried something new, and I am so glad that I did. This L’Oreal Super Liner Perfect Slim is SO easy to work with, SO black, and most importantly, SO precise. I overall just love this eyeliner, its made precision liner the most simple of tasks and I honestly don’t think I will ever go back to my Collection felt tip liner. Gasp.

IMG_3301IMG_3315

Well guys that’s my August favourites for this month! I hope you have enjoyed this post, if so please let me know what you loved the most in the comments, and also let me know what your favourites have been this month!

 

Love,

Loren

Leave a Reply

